dreaming

By dreaming

One of those days

I used my new CPAP equipment for the first time last night and it did  not go smoothly.  Where my old machine kept the start light on for about 20 seconds, so I could see to put on my headgear and settle myself for the night, this one shuts off after 5 seconds.  So I was fumbling in the dark, trying to get the new headpiece and mask on; I had to turn the light on and start over three times.  Once settled, I discovered that when I had to get up in the night, the machine immediately shut itself off, instead of continuing to run for 5 minutes as the last one did.  So I kept having to restart it.  

At 7:45 the musical alarm on my smartphone went off, although it wasn't set to do so.  I got myself back into sleep mode, and then the phone rang at 8:15 - it was the CPAP company!  I didn't answer it, but now I was up for the day.  At a reasonable time, I called my supplier to complain that they'd awakened me; I told them I didn't want any more phone calls about my CPAP usage. Emails, of which I've had several already, are okay - I can read them at my leisure.

I downloaded the medical records request form from UW Medical Center so that the results of my last neurotology consult could be sent to the new one.  My printer and my computer unwilling to work together, I went up to the computer room to print out the form.  The printer wouldn't work.  So it was off to the library.  At about this time my cable service went out.  I tried twice to restart it, then just left.  I printed my form at the library then did a little shopping, since I was out of just about all my staples.  

When I returned, there was still no cable service;  Since it had now been about 3 hours since it went out, I called the cable company.  After about an hour's discussion, it was clear they couldn't fix the problem, so they said they would send a technician out tomorrow afternoon.

I went back to the computer room so I could use my phone to view and comment on your blips for the day, when the phone rang and it was Comcast.  They thought that my service had come back on and asked me to check.  I pointed out that I was not in my apartment, because I had no WIFi service there.  So they said they would call back in 15 minutes and I went home. Now the WiFi and Internet were back up, but it took another 10 minutes to get the TV back.  So they canceled the technician.

I was pretty ragged after such a day, but then I looked out the window and saw these amazing clouds, and felt a lot better.  It was hard to choose the best shot.

I hope every one of you had an infinitely better day than this.  I'm trying to be optimistic for tomorrow.:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.