Pre-pandemic there were a lot of activities going on in my seniors-only building, so there was a need for a monthly calendar.  Now the calendar shows little beyond the shopping trips in the community van, but they've tried to be clever in posting all the odd "days" and "months" that have been declared.  Since the writing and the illustrations are tiny, I though it would do for Tiny Tuesday.

When I drive down to the market where I pick up my groceries, I pass an elementary school.  Last week there were crossing guards at the corner streets and I wondered why, since school here is virtual now.  Today I discovered that they are there to protect children coming in for free meals.  Breakfast and lunch are now available for pick-up, a  reminder that there are lots of things schools do besides teaching academic subjects.  The guards wave to passersby, but I was troubled to see that one of them wasn't wearing her mask.  Our air today is Very Unhealthy and no one should be out at all, much less standing unmasked on a street corner for an hour at a time.

Apparently there was .05" of rain during the night somewhere in the Seattle area, but it certainly wasn't here in Bitter Lake.  We're not expecting any real rain until Thursday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.