Possibly the best

By Letters

Base Jumping Anyone?

Scotland is full of strange signs at the moment, some would say that the nanny state is responsible and that health and safety has gone overboard. I have a couple of dozen electricity poles in the woodland around the house each with a plaque reading "Danger of Death Keep Off". Presumably this is to dissuade me from climbing the things then zip wiring down the live cables.
Mind you, I did once meet a man in a local pub who worked for some large construction company or other. In the course of discussion about the building trade's safety record, he asserted that it was much improved since his company had only killed 12 workers last year compared to the previous years 16. All down to health and safety I suppose.
This image is of a sign at my local quarry. Its run by the council is very well run and extremely safe. They make small stones for road surfacing in three different sizes and lovely stones they are I can tell you, all grey and shiny! I digress.
It had never occurred to me to play in a quarry but it does seem like an interesting idea. I mean you could abseil down the sides, hold rock climbing events and even do a bit of base jumping should the mood take you.
In the morning I intend to contact the council HQ to ask if they have any quarries which are play areas.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.