Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

New life!

These humble eucalyptus leaves have appeared just outside the bedroom window. They looked so beautiful in the morning light I felt I had to take a photograph of them before they grew up :)

Now I’m sure I’ve talked about Mrs Swane’s Peanut Slice before, but just in case, this is a old family favourite and whenever we turned up at Mrs Swane’s holiday shack in Mandurah as youngsters she would greet us with a fresh tin of her slice. I mentioned it to 59 when I met up with her last Thursday and promised I would send her the recipe. So here it is my friend and I thought perhaps some of my blip buddies might light to have a go at it as well.

Mrs Swane’s Peanut Slice

Place in a large saucepan

Melt 250g of butter
1/2 a cup of sugar
Beat in an egg
and bring to boil gently

Remove from the stove

Beat in 2 dessertspoons of cocoa
Add packet of crushed Milk Arrowroot biscuits (don’t crush too finely)
3/4 cups of salted peanuts
3/4 cup of sultanas

Press ingredients into a slab tin lined with baking paper

Ice with a rich chocolate icing when just warm and sprinkle with coconut.

The slice is best kept in the refrigerator

The most difficult challenge with this recipe if trying to just eat one slice at a time!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.