Salsilla

A reasonable day today - dry, with intermittent sunshine. Trying to clear up around the deck and elsewhere and went to have a look at my Bomarea edulis which was coming into flower. 

It's always fun to grow a plant which is not commonly seen and this is the second Bomarea species I've tried. I can't remember offhand what that first one was, but having grown it under glass for a number of years I planted it out and it died in the first winter!

B. edulis, the Salsilla,  has survived outside on my deck in a pot through probably three winters so I'm delighted to see it flowering. It's a herbaceous twining plant from Argentina and Chile through Central America to Mexico and is grown for its edible tubers, hence the name. I don't think I shall eat mine though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.