"Who Is Sylvia? What Is She?"

A horribly windy, wet and quite disgusting day! I haven't been out all day, though I did peep out of the front door for a second!

No charming landscapes to Blip therefore, no Calmac ferries sailing out of a sunny Oban, no innocent people on the seafront unaware of their photos being taken! I've opted for this instead, a note taped into the front of a book I bought online, delivered today. Just as a matter of interest it's a 1st Edition of Cecil Roberts' 'So Immortal a Flower', published in July 1944, an account of the battle for Crete through the eyes of a fictional cast. I had the book already, a more recent edition, but found that there was quite a chunk missing, never bound in, in fact. 

I love finding things in old books, whether notes, letters, shopping lists, pressed leaves or other interesting objects. This note looks pretty old - I'll never know who Sylvia was, or where she had been. Maybe it dates from the end of the Second World War and she'd been serving in the Forces.

I just found another dedication in a book of Cecil Roberts' poems, published in 1913 - I've put it on as an extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.