The Bridge on the River Kelvin

We left for Glasgow this morning - Mrs M was going to see her Mum.

After lunch I went to Glasgow Botanics - my usual haunt when I'm in town. By chance I met my friend Ewan, who is the General Manager, coming up the steps from the river. The wonderful cast iron footbridge, built in 1910, has been totally restored and was opened only this morning! When I say 'opened', I mean that they unlocked the gate. There was no ceremony - Ewan thought that if it was publicised then there would be complaints that the West End gets all the money, which is quite untrue! There will probably be an opening ceremony sometime in the future.

I persuaded him to go down again and pose for me on the bridge, which he did with only a little arm-twisting! The structure used to be black but he decided to go for this charming combination of cream and blue, which I think looks pretty good! Good for another 50 years, he reckons.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.