Abandoned Station

I have been in Waddesdon Manor all day working in my volunteer role within the House. It was busy. I was in the position where visitors exit the building, which also involves taking any mobility impaired visitors up or down in the lift when they can't manage the stairs. There are always two volunteers in this post as one of us has to keep the desk 'manned'. Between us we were up and down in that lift like the proverbial yo-yo. All good fun and lots of interaction with the people.

I intended joining in with Derelict Sunday as I love a bit of dereliction. Now Waddesdon is old but nothing about it can be classified as derelict so no options there. I knew there had been a station not very far away of which only one platform remains so I went searching. This one remnant is very overgrown and the rail only used occasionally by freight trains and those from Quainton Train museum close by. Waddesdon Manor was built 1870s - the station opened 1897 and closed 1936; a short and inconspicuous life. I have superimposed a steam train on the rails (not my pic) but gives a bit of atmosphere. Derelict Sunday fulfilled and another piece of history discovered.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.