ABT

By ABT

Golden Gate

Many moons ago, when I was a youngster, my mum had a pen-pal from San Clemente, California. She came to visit us in Aberdeen when I must have been 10-12 years old. She arrived laden with books and postcards, all depicting life in California and from then on, seeing those pictures made me dream of going there. Today my dream came true as I walked along the Golden Gate Bridge, with memories of that visit from our American friend and the hope that dreams really would come true. I never really thought I'd ever be in the USA, never mind in California, which always seemed such a distance away. The walk along here was very emotional for me, as there was no way I ever thought I would get here when I was younger. I really realise how lucky I am to have made it here. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.