Mannheim, Germany

It gives a good feeling when a plan pushes through.  My idea for this weekend was two day trips, Friday and Sunday, and so glad it worked out.  Today, Mannheim!  Apparently, though, I had 'shortened' the map in my memory and it turned out to be closer to Ludwigshaven, so about 70 km. further that what was in my head ... hahaha!  Never mind, all worked out.

I feel like giving Mannheim the unglamorous title of 'that village close to Ludwigshaven' because only one bridge and one highway (or maybe two) separates them and you hardly notice, even after crossing on the bridge, that you have left the one and entered the other.  Ludwigshaven is one large industrial area, mostly because of the port, or 'haven', and I have the feeling that 3/4 of the people of Mannheim work there, and why shouldn't they.  Be that as it may, Mannheim has its own university, part of which occupies the local schloss (which was closed due to repairs).  The schloss itself is huge.  The chosen shot is one I took of the water tower, no longer in use, together with one of the fountains.

Left the house at 10.20, and after wading through a massive jam somewhere between Koblenz and Mainz partly caused by road works and partly by one serious traffic accident, reached Mannheim by 15.45.  Toured the town on foot for three hours, culminating with the water tower, and somewhere there I grabbed a quick snack and phoned AW to tell him I was okay.

For the blog, I also want to put here that it was during the 5-hour trip, with the extra half hour of traffic jam, that I sensed that it was the right time to reflect on what has been going on in MNL and to ask myself a handful of direct questions.  No, I no longer feel any affection for Jay.  No, that feeling didn't start 'yesterday' but has been growing for quite a while.  No, I don't need to take 'his feelings' into consideration with regards to the case -- we are standing in opposite camps and no line will be crossed.  No, he has never thought of me.  No, I won't miss him.  Not any more.  What will I miss?  I will miss missing him.  I will miss hoping that I could help him.  Yes, this nostalgic feeling will go away by itself in the course of time, and that is okay with me.  No, it doesn't have to come back.  This time, the decision isn't being taken only mentally but in my heart as well.

Left the city at 19.10.  No more jams on the way back, of course.  Stopped somewhere to fill up the tank and reached home at 23.45.  What a fab day!  Especially so, as the weather has been predicted to turn by tomorrow.  On the way back, used the microphone (video) option of my camera to record the towns between Ludwigshaven and Koblenz that I could think about for future visits, so exciting times ahead.  If not this year, then surely for next year.  In the meantime, staying alert for continuing good weather.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.