Sisters

Another funeral today.  I was pleased to be able to do some readings and some prayers for the man I knew all my life as Uncle Phil.  I always found him a little intimidating when I was a little girl. but later on I came to appreciate his sparkly eyes and cheeky grin.  I got a bit bored by some of his war stories but today we heard him talking on record for the Imperial War Museum with his memories of WW2 when he fought at El Alamein and Italy.  Uncle Phil was 96 when he died and he and my Godmother, Olive, celebrated their 74th wedding anniversary a few weeks ago.  Phil had been in a home with dementia for the last 8 years and Olive went into a different home about 3 years ago when the became unable to look after herself at home.

This photo was taken at the Wake this afternoon.  Olive is the lady closest to the camera dozing and waking to talk to guests occasionally.  She is 95 now but is still very decisive about what she wants to happen.  The lady with her is her sister, Mary, who is 92 and is also in a home in the area.  The two sisters are first cousins of my Mom.

A sad day of course, but good to see the relatives.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.