Criss-cross Applesauce

As of this morning I was caught up with the apple harvest. All the boxes and bags were accounted for. But now it's the afternoon and I might be losing again. Fourteen little jars, or about eight pounds of fruit. A big mess in the kitchen, and a house that smells yummy. And when we are buried under twenty feet of snow and the wind is howling at the door I will remember this cinnamon scented morning as I pop the lid for a winter treat.

The Extra shows the results of all the chopping and pureeing. Lined up behind the applesauce is yesterday's project: tomatoes. Lurking to the side is a box of pears. There's still a bit more to do before I'm finished for the season, but I'm making progress.

It rained this morning! Quite an event for around here. Enough to make a mess, but not enough to water anything very deeply. Nevertheless, a noteworthy sound and a reminder that there are some outdoor chores to take care of before the rainy season really begins.

The Extra hawk is, I confess, from yesterday morning, but he was upstaged by the fairy and I forgot all about him. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.