BrandonK4

By BrandonK4

Ribblehead

Today i went on the train up to Ribblehead, a place famous for its magnificent viaduct, it has 24 arches and is a brilliant feat of engineering, located on teh settle to carlisle line it gathers many many tourists.

I live about a 20 minute train journey away from it, and woke up in the morning and spontaneously decided to go and shoot it and its surrounding landscapes, i took a few of the stereotypical tourists shots of it but then decided to try something a little different, the area where i live is made up of many rock types and has vast amounts of limestone, around the viaduct and basically all over the Yorkshire dales theres limestone everywhere, what particularlly caught my eye was the texture of the moss on the stone.

I decided to try something i little different involving the viaduct, I took a few tests shots and really loved the colour of green the moss was giving me and the textures i could see on the back of my DP-1s poor screen. Then by chance a train started to cross the viaduct so i knew i had to get it just right, thankfully I got the shot exactly how i wanted it. It was only after i decided it would look better in black and white, as i think it brings out the textures even more.

I was wandering around the viaduct and the surrounding area for about 3 hours, it was very windy and cold but theres nothing quite like shooting landscapes in the yorkshire dales.

and to wrap the day up nicely I went for pint of bitter before my train.

tomorrows blip will be a photo of the gear i took with me to ribblehead and a little about it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.