Looks Can Be Deceiving

CC and I spotted these on several milkweed plants today.  The antennae of the milkweed beetle actually split each eye in two.  The bug absorbs toxins from the milkweed plant to make itself distasteful to predators.  Cute, but very bitter! 

Summit Metro Parks
Liberty Ledges
Black Bear Trail

Extra:
Meet Stella, the maniacal dog who looks so pathetically sweet here, is very aggressive and sadly, untrained.  She's the one that bit my hand and scratched me through my pants in the Spring, leaving a bloody cut that now is a permanent scar on my leg.  She's the one that was waking up the neighborhood at 6 a.m. and whose incessant barking throughout the day drove me and another neighbor to the edge. I'm proud that I remained courteous in asking them to curtail Stella's barking.  The dogs are no longer walked in the neighborhood or into town.   The dogs are quieted much sooner once barking and mean growling begins.

Now say goodbye to Stella.  She, her owners, and their other dog Luna are moving.  I wish them and their new neighbors good luck.  Goodbye!

Thanks to Cailleach for continuing the WildWed challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.