A day in the life

By Shelling

Lanterns

My garden is too big for me to take care of. I don't have the knowledge or the energy to keep it, besides, my landlord says I don't have to do anything but to cut the grass when it needs to. Once it was an organised garden with trees in rows, gravel paths and carefully planted bushes and flowerbeds. Since the sixties the grass has gradually taken over, after it stopped being a family farm and has had tenants instead.

There are some traces of the old garden left though. This plant is one of my favourite autumn plants, it's lovely to see where it grows and is colourful a long time when brought inside. When it dries it's just as beautiful, when the flowers turn into shapes looking like they are made of spiders web. 

They are called Physalis alkekengi in latin and bares a lot of different names. We call them Japanese lantern but they are also known as Chinese lantern. They are closely related to the physalis fruit and is in the same family as the Solanum plant -Potatoes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.