Danger UXB

Been sorting out again and one of the things that re emerged was this bomb, that my Dad and I retrieved many years ago.

It was a lovely day about 45 years ago both me and dad were at home. Suddenly he says let's go down the Bombing Ground. I says eh never heard of that ! So off we went for a walk across the fields towards the A41. About the 4th field we came to had been ploughed but he said straight away this looks like it.

We walked down the furrows and sure enough we found lots of bombs just like this one. Of course they had exploded, this was just the weighty end. I was keen to take a few home but he said don't forget youve got to carry them all the way home. I laughed as I struggled with 3 or more as we started the long trudge

home..

The bombs got heavier and heavier and by the time we got home we only had one each. I had also picked up other fragments but I'm not sure where they went. Anyhow one we smashed to examine the insides. But this one, painted with Hammerite, I kept for years and even had it on my desk at work for quite a while.

The story is,...... well you'll have to wait until tomorrow for why they were there.!

Day 34 - Shoulder

2000units of F8 injected no problems. No pain. All is good apart my legs of course.

A fine sunny day.

Extra

Another picture of some interesting things. The item on the left I dug up in the garden here. The horse brass on the right came from Dad though it's origins are unknown. TA could stand for Territorial Army but equally it could be someone's initials....

If you know what the item on the left is let me know please.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.