The long and boring path

I uploaded this earlier while out, but as we left 60 Million Postcards I found it wasn’t on. So having another go now. This is for Freyjad’s Wide Wednesday challenge “pathway or bridge”.

At midday to the club for the first of 8 ‘spinal stability’ classes (using Pilates techniques). Once or twice a year I wake up unable to stand straight.

Had a bad back episode in my 20s. Literally couldn’t move anything, not even my fingers or toes. It was quite frightening at the time I ended up in hospital for 3 or 4 weeks.

The initial problem was exacerbated when the ‘caring’ company I worked for sent me up to physio. They told me to exercise more and more, touch my toes etc. I got progressively worse until that morning when I woke unable to move.

Since then I do know how to manage my back. Flat shoes, firm mattress, sit on a hard straight back chair. Taking it easy and lying down sorts it. And a back belt at the first twinge.

After the class with Mr B to the Polish Sklep for bread, then walk down to 60 Million Postcards, and now home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.