Istanbul Çağlayan Palace of Justice

I am rendered mute, my English vocabulary insufficient to adequately describe the immense cathedral that is the Justice Palace, or, in common parlance, Istanbul Law Courts. Apparently, my Turkish vocabulary was insufficient too as I was there this afternoon to make a witness statement for an ongoing case involving others, but fell at the first sentence when, having heard my initial response, the judge declared that an official translator was required, and reset my appearance for early December!  So, it took longer to get there, and more importantly, find the exit afterwards, than to be told by the judge, in Turkish, that my Turkish didn't pass muster in a court of law.  Able to understand, but not respond at the standard required, my language skills are under par today, it seems.

Other than that, it was an ordinary day.

The Istanbul Çağlayan Justice Palace is a courthouse in the Şişli district of Istanbul, Turkey. Inaugurated in July 2011, it is the largest courthouse in Europe, with an area of over 300,000 m². More than 4000 people work there. Wikipedia 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.