An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Posh Goalie...

Backdated Blip - 26

An early morning walk took me (somehow) up to Salisbury's biggest and most troubled housing estate, long before anyone was up. As it's stuck up on a hill on the city's outskirts it actually looks quite pretty, at times and in certain places.

As I was (& still am) taking reportage shots, they want creative ones too) for the city council, Parks and Amenities comes under their remit and so when I came across these new, rather posh goalposts, I had to get an interesting angle. However, was trying out the Nikkor 18-200 I had only got the day before and found even its widest setting, not wide enough.

After carefully lining this shot up, with the far set neatly framed, I had to correct the lens' fairly awful barrel distortion (that top metal line bowed downwards at the ends). I was pleased with the result as was the Head of Parks. Minimum aperture (f22) to get it all sharp, from front to back.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.