I've spent the last 40 years working with and working for children. Today I was asked what I thought of children bunking off school. Today is the day for many school children around the world to shout for change.

Our Education Secretary, Gavin Williamson said "every child should be in school. They should be learning, they shouldn't be bunking off and it's very irresponsible for people to encourage children to do so.”

Jessica, 16, emailed her school to say she would be joining the protests instead of being in class. Jessica said: "School is important but so is my future. If politicians were taking the appropriate action we need - and had been taking this action a long time ago when it was recognised the world was changing in a negative way - then I would not have to be skipping school."

So how do children and young people have a voice in the world they live in? And who listens? And why shouldn't they have a view on the world they will be looking after?

Earlier this year a 7 year old told me, “The world is in a mess, it's time for someone younger to have a go.” I think he is right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.