Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Flute group

I've spent the day at a flute group, organised by Lynn (in the middle, black trousers) and led by Janna (far left).  Janna is a flute player and teacher based in Cambridge.  Lynn goes down to Cambridge for lessons, and this is the second occasion that Janna has come up to Norwich to run a group learning and playing session.

It was great.  I got to play my alto flute - which was a very cheap purchase on eBay, but then I also had a go on Janna's much more expensive alto and bass flutes, discovering that "you get's what you pays for".  It probably isn't worth my while spending the sort of money that a decent alto costs but I'm very tempted!

It was a really useful day, not only from the point of view of playing, and thinking seriously about arranging some lessons, but also meeting other local flautists and hearing about groups they play with.

Meanwhile, poor W has had to drive all the way to Heathrow on his own (I was meant to be going with him, but the draw of the flute day was too strong!), to pick up his sister and her friend.  They're almost home - I've had a phone call from Newmarket.  The lentil "Shepherd's" pie is ready to put in the oven, and the gin is out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.