Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Flower identification

I have always been a big fan of wildflowers along the road and in the woods.  Some of them I knew the names but most I did not.   So every time I would take a photo I would pull out a little book of Wildflowers of South Carolina that I have to try to identify the flowers because someone would surely be asking.    I also have this same little book for Colorado as there are many wildflowers out there that are not native to our area.    The books are divided by colors of the flowers which make it easy to find.

Now I have purchased a flower id app for the iphone called Picture This.  I looked at several of the apps included PlantSnap but for the money I choose the Picture This.    What a great thing for me.  Now I just have to take a photo of the plant and the app tells me what it is.     Also, in the wilderness area when there is no signal, I can use the camera phone and then go back to the app later to get the name.

These are some of the wildflowers I saw during the days we were in the mountains camping.     I probably won't remember the names of most of these but the app keeps a record of where and when I took the photos of the flowers so I have a reference library.     It also recognized a beechnut and the leaves of the tulip poplar.   So it will be useful for tree id also.   

The monarch pupa/chrysalis is looking good this morning and I found another caterpillar on the butterfly weed.   So there are three cats that might make it as butterflies.   

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.