Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Dead but still worthy of a photo

I went to move my grocery store flowers on the table this morning and the petals just all fell off.   They had been on the table for two weeks so I guess they had done their duty.   I pulled off all the flower heads from the gerberas and the little sunflowers I had and put them in jars to finish drying. I will be planting them in the spring in my one flower bed just to see what happens.    Used the lightbox to get this photo of the dried stalks and the petals.   A little abstracted but I like it. 

We now have two Monarch chrysalis in the yard and I think the third caterpillar is getting sluggish and might be slowing down to make his new home.   One cat climbed down somewhere off the stalk he was on so I hope we find him hanging somewhere around the porch.  But I will be happy if I get two or three butterflies at the beginning of next week. 

Hope everyone is having a great weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.