Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

The ShiftyFades Effect

Backblipped on 7th January 2013

Ah, it was the year of Fifty Shades of Grey! And then, of course, lots of other books, written in the same style, with similar covers!

I read all 3 of the ShiftyFades (as I called them) books. Despite the fuss, I didn't find them particularly racy, but I did find them very very womeny and rather full of "hearts and flowersish" stuff.

This may be because I usually read either factual scientific books, or thrillers with fast plots and lots of action, or murder mysteries.

However, the ShiftyFades books were a quick and easy read, and I did actually finish them. They have rather a large words:plot ratio for my liking, and I think I'll need at least 2 years without any more chicklit to recover from the overdose of girlie loveyness, but they're not TERRIBLE books, as some are saying, just not particularly my sort of thing.

I don't think I'll be bothering with any of this lot though - I've returned to action thrillers and serial killers for now, along with some mathematical and factual stuff!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.