Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Hammock Tester

Here's Charlie, testing the new hammock I bought - since I took this picture, Moses has also had a go - they seem to like it! :-)

Back to "work mode" today (even though I'm not actually AT work again yet)! The morning started with a 60-length swim - I'm SO going to miss the outdoor pool when it closes for winter in mid-September, then continued with a bit of laundry, housework and some playtime with the boys!

Then I FINALLY tackled my accounts, got them all up to date, wrote cheques for bills and so on, and sorted the accumulated papers in my in-tray! Phew!

I also did a bit of other admin - sent a few e-mails I'd been meaning to send for a while, ordered some postcards from moo (postcards that will go into the purple envelopes I blipped here), had a spot of lunch, and then returned to my study!

I've come to the conclusion that I need a bigger study! Mine is absolutely stuffed to the ceiling with, er, stuff! There's a "writing desk", a "computer desk", a filing cabinet, several bookcases and tables, a futon (which can neither be sat on nor slept on because it's covered in violas and music), a whole bunch of assorted instruments, a large rat cage, boxes of rat supplies, and piles of stuff everywhere!

The real problem (as I've found when sorting various books today) is that I don't have enough surface space on which to keep my different piles of books, nor do I have enough shelf space on which to store them for easy access (despite spilling out onto the landing and storing boxes of the things in the loft). I am now studying maths, English language, and, sporadically, foreign languages of various sorts - I really need a pile for each area of study, plus two or three piles for different music projects!

I need to come up with some sort of ingenious storage solution I think! Maybe I need a book hammock? Hmmmm!

Anyway, I've done the best I can with the book piles, and am now back to making notes from the latest maths block in preparation for an assignment due in a couple of weeks. In between chapters I play my viola a bit or get the boys out of their cage to play!

Not really a bad life is it? As long as I don't get lost in the books in the meantime, I should be able to carry on with more of the same tomorrow!

Many thanks to those of you who welcomed Nova to blip following my blip yesterday! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.