Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Stratford Costa

A lovely day today! One of those where we slept well until around 8, dozed a bit, the Wonderspouse fetched tea, then a late pancake breakfast. I listened to Brandenburg Concertos, got loads of sorting done in my study and felt jolly organized!

Then we took advantage of the lovely weather and went to Stratford. We stopped at Costa for coffee, since it's my favourite coffee place. I thought I would blip the building in which it resides - it's very Stratford, with the black and white beamy building! All very olde worlde!

I took to having a latte & triple chocolate muffin in Costa earlier this year, as a comfort in the middle of the big depressive episode that characterised the start of 2010. It's actually rather interesting drinking coffee - usually I have to be very careful and limit myself because I'm slightly food-intolerant to it, but a GOOD side effect of the mood stabilisers I'm on seems to have been curing that intolerance! Hurrah!

So we had a lovely time out. I resisted various copper and brass things from an antiques centre in town, but bought the Wonderspouse a new pillow and got some nice soap from one of my favourite market traders.

The drive home was lovely - blue skies, green trees, car sunroof & windows open, the wind in my hair, Kasabian up loud on the stereo, and mostly tootling along at 60mph. All lovely and warm and happy - I like being behind the wheel when I can actually DRIVE the car - and it's a nice drive from Stratford - just far enough not to be a pootle down the road, but not so far that it's wearing!

Once home, we watched James Bond on the TV and I made all sorts of plans for potential achievements and future hopes and goals while Smudge dozed quietly on my knee!

I like days like today! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.