The Binns

I always like to prolong a trip as far as I can - however Mr C is like a homing pigeon.

Today he agreed to deviate slightly to call in at The Binns, the home of the Dalyell family since 17th century. It is now a National Trust property and was closed. There would have been great views over the Forth to the north and Pentlands to the south, had it not been so murky.

The last occupant was Tam Dalyell the Labour MP who died a couple of years ago. He was the guest lecturer on the Scottish schools ship Dunera when I went round Scotland for £8 about 56 years ago. My dad earned £10 a week at the time so I was very lucky. Tam told us about brochs. I got confused by his posh accent when he kept pointing to the “haw” when clearly to me it was a “herth” or as written “hearth”.

Home now, van unpacked and washing has been done.

Will be catching up with Strictly while Mr C sits in the corner with his headphones on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.