A Barbados Cherry......

......on a Barbados Cherry Tree!   I know, that's redundant.......   This is one of my Bonsai trees that is about 4-5" tall, including the pot.  The tree is at least 10 years old, I don't know how long the nursery had the tree before it was purchased by another Blipper, (and then given to me) so I can't be more specific on the age.  I would guess 15 years? maybe?
    What I do know is that it is very rare for a Barbados Cherry to fruit.  It has flowered many times over the years (you can see a new blossom on the right, it is pink) but it has never developed a cherry,  or fruit, before.  I discovered the cherry about 2 week ago, a hard green.  Now, it is a brilliant red, and beautiful!  
      I apologize for the angle of the pot and tree.  It is, indeed, slanted down. In order to get the tree in the morning light, I put it on the window sill, which slants down.  I tried to prop it more upright but the tree and pot became unstable.  I didn't want to risk a fall, so here it is, in all it's funky beauty!
     A beautiful morning today.....  70 degrees, breezy and dry air!   Got to love it!!!!!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.