Make Every Day Memorable

By Jorgiesmum

A Lazy Sunday

Last night we went to our neighbour's Ruby Wedding Anniversary celebrations, held in a pub  so today needed to be a quiet one!

Now, honestly, I hardly ever have a drink but last night I found myself sharing a table with someone who I can only politely describe as a nutcase and, immersing myself in several glasses of wine throughout the meal, was the only way I could cope with her. 
The format for the evening started with a seating plan and then the men would move around by two seats after each course. As it was all a bit Master Cheffy with SEVEN courses, the cunning plan was to make sure that the conversation remained fresh and entertaining (GROAN!!)
In theory I can see how this would be a good idea but people ended up with someone else's cutlery and I ended up with this woman sitting opposite me all evening. The more she drank the more outrageous she got.
By the fourth course the word had got out and the 'new 'man decided that his safest option was to forego the food and take refuge in the loo.
The fact that this man was our host for the night and the plan was his bloody idea,  didn't go unnoticed !!! 
The empty chair was soon taken by 'the woman's ' husband who turned out to be her equal in all things appalling.
I stuck it until I'd finished a lovely lamb dish and then hightailed it to another table on the opposite side of the room.
An entertaining evening but not one I wish to repeat at any point in the future.
Anyway, my head was a trifle delicate this morning and as it was raining, the first time in ages, I spent a leisurely few hours pottering about indoors.

The two spaniels, Poppy and Bronte, were meant to be staying until Thursday but their owners/my friends are having to return home early due to ill health.
It's all very sad and I will no doubt mention it again sometime in the near future :-(

Meanwhile Jorgie has shown great restraint sharing all her toys and bones with our lovely guests :-D)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.