Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

A Photo A Year in the Making

Another emotional day as I walked with Geoff, Chrissie, Islay and Pebbles again in the Peak District.  We climbed a similar route to the first walk I ever did with Geoff, up on to the Kinder plateau.  It was a cracking day, the weather was gorgeous although the higher we got the more windy it became and was quite cold.  It's just over a year since Geoff told me he wanted to donate his kidney to me, and nearly 7 months now since the actual transplant, and this was the first time we'd seen each other since that momentous day in February.

Geoff and Chrissie didn't know, but as we descended I was walking at the back and I shed a few tears.  I never thought I would get the opportunity again, and to have this wonderful gift from Geoff, his kidney, to give me life again, made it very emotional.  I actually felt fitter as we climbed than when I walked this route the first time those few years ago.

I thank them all for their kindness and wonderful hospitality that they've shown me, they are very special people.

An interesting side note on the walk was the appearance of five naked hikers.  We were sat having lunch when Chrissie announced that she could see naked hikers.  Geoff and me didn't initially believe her, until they commenced their walk again.  A first, and hopefully the last time, I witness this interesting past time on a walk.  Lol!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.