Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Hello, Mojo!

After a very enjoyable call with my parents, I decided to take a wander through the gardens.  And to my surprise and delight, I spotted this fresh Question Mark butterfly!  I'm not sure that I've seen this species in my yard before as they are not usually found on nectar sources, preferring dung and fermented fruits and vegetation. This is the time of year when they are heading south for the winter, so this one was sucking up the high-energy nectar, no doubt to speed his/her journey.  

You may wonder about the name of this anglewing species - it has to do with that white mark on the hindwing which loosely forms a question mark.  Their very close cousin in the Eastern Comma, which is posted HERE on Flickr.  They don't look like much when viewed from the side, but when the wings open they are rather spectacular - see Extra.  The problem is that usually when  I see one with wings open, it's sitting on a turd or something equally unappealing.  

Very happy to be feeling at one with my Nikon again.  And just in time because I see that I have a milestone blip coming up tomorrow.  I'll have to try to find something special...

Thanks for hanging in with me, even when my offerings are meager.

xo
Debbi

On depression...one of the hallmarks of depression (and something I am watchful for in myself) is a loss of interest in things.  It can come along with social withdrawal, which I am also tuned into personally.  The tricky thing is that we all lose our mojo sometimes, and sometimes we may not feel particularly social...so how do you know what's "normal" and what constitutes depression?  No easy answer, but I'd say that if either/both of these things go one for more than a few weeks, it may be a red flag.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.