TMac

By TMac

Professional Payback

With a tinge of nostalgic benevolence.

When I was a scrawny, socially inept schoolgirl, I encountered some incredibly supportive vets who did not laugh in my face when I announced my desire to enter the veterinary profession. One posh chap did tell me that I would need to "lose the accent", but encouraged me nonetheless.

During my time at vet school I met amazing vets during obligatory "seeing practice" who gave students opportunities to learn from them; not just in the technical points of the job, but also in the art of veterinary medicine and all that entails.

Mentors became colleagues and friends. I met one at a meeting the other night. He was a young graduate and I a 15 year-old skinny wee skelf from the wrong side of the tracks when we met. He was always so kind and encouraging. He has now retired and I have wrinkles and grey hair. I love a hug from him when we meet.

So, today, a newly fledged vet popped in to the surgery to drop off a thank you package for hubby and I en route to her first job. She has spent blocks of time with us since she was a schoolgirl and we have seen her develop and mature into an amazing young woman and dedicated professional.
Another of our fledglings started her job a few weeks ago and got in touch last week to tell us how much she is loving it.

The veterinary world is a small one. To support and encourage schoolchildren pursue their dream and see them realise it is an absolute privilege.
With modern day changes and larger intakes, it can be tricky for vet students to access supportive Extra-Mural-Studies.
For us, it's intrinsic to the development of a good vet.
We love having them around.
We are also very grateful that we seem to attract students with excellent baking skills and great taste in thank you presents!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.