Ramblings from Zambia....

By dcafrica

from joy to despair!

So, I went this morning to one of the primary schools attached to our church in Lundazi.  I was there to observe the Early Childhood class and give some advice to the teacher if necessary! 

Now bearing in mind that this teacher has been trained, I was shocked to find no play materials and the children sitting at desks as if they were in primary school.  These kids are 3 and 4 years old!  The teacher taught them from the blackboard and then they had to write in their books - while some of them could not even hold a pencil properly! So the joy of seeing the kids and interacting with them quickly went to despair when I saw how they were being treated in the classroom!  The extra photo is one of despair!!

Thankfully the head teacher is willing to accept help in his school and I hope I will have a workshop with all of the teachers I am meeting in the next 10 days, during the next school holidays!

I am thankful to be in Lundazi for another reason!  Its a rural town in Eastern Zambia and yet it has electricity most of the day thanks to the neighbouring Malawi where they tap electricity from!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.