XR

Colourful Mai put on an XR ( Extinction Rebellion) event in the hall today. There were activities such as printing, sewing bags, and pressing apples, plus information about compost making, changing  a bike into an electric bike, a repairing group that is being set up in the village where people learn how to repair loved but broken objects! There was soup and bread and herbal tea on offer and a bike that powered a liquidiser to make fruit smoothies! 
I knew most of the people running the stalls and activities and most of the people attending.I was pleased to see a woman from my sourdough course, she was doing the apple pressing! Mai was disappointed in the turn out and I think it was a case of preaching to the converted. The Exile and The Poetess attended briefly but felt it was all to earnest and claustrophobic! There was a definite " Hippie" feeling to the event, but then Calstock has a very alternative population. You can perhaps tell this from the photos of the event here!There was one stall run by a woman I know to be vegan advertsing an Animal Rebellion, ending animal farming and fishing. Being vegetarian  I like the sound of this and abhor the practises of intensive farming, and I know people are eating less meat, but I really can't see this happening. But who knows, maybe the future will see a radical change, as things stand at the moment we need a radical change in so many areas.
Come the evening Vegan Jo, The Exile and Party Girl  had the first of our Dining Ladies meals! We used to do this when Friend was alive and a photo had popped up on facebook of one of our outings which made me decide to restart it. Given everyones busy day we decided to have a Chinese takeaway! I collected it from Tavistock and we ate at The Exiles. I'm afraid there was a lot of chilli in some of the dishes but otherwise it was a fun evening!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.