fototherapy

By GirlKojak

Time & Joy

Nobody sees a flower - really - it is so small it takes time - we haven't time - and to see takes time, like to have a friend takes time.
(Georgia O'Keeffe)

People from a planet without flowers would think we must be mad with joy the whole time to have such things about us.
(Iris Murdoch)


How much more joy would we have, I wonder, if we took more time to appreciate beauty? These quotes together put me in mind of the poem Leisure by WH Davies. They also made me realise how much I've missed through not blipping! I love how photography makes you look at things, but even when I've taken pictures I haven't thought about what I was taking that much, and didn't get around to editing them for blip.

This plant (kalanchoe) is one I bought as a spare gift in case of emergency but never used. I had watered it rather carelessly, which resulted in the gleaming droplets and then the idea for the picture. To give you an idea of scale, each of the flowers is approx 10-12mm in diameter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.