Mom, I did Something Dumb, and I can't tell you...

This morning I awoke to an Abby, snuggled real tight near my head, not her usual place of choice.  She was also trembling.  My first thought was the cold....  it was 66 degrees outside and the bedroom window was wide open.  Abby doesn't like the cold, she gets cold easily.  Naturally, mom thought she was cold and got a blanket for her.
     Then, as I served breakfast, Abby wouldn't eat.  Abb's is a chow hound.....  what's going on?    She walked away, and was limping.  Taking her to the couch, she was examined from head to toe on the foot she was limping on.  No flinch, no burr, no cut, all the toes were where they were supposed to be.  Now, I am curious and checked out all of her other legs.....  nothing.  I put her down on the floor....
      She tries to walk away but now she won't stand on the her leg.  She was panting, trembling, and looking at me....   But wait.....  the shoulder looks different from the other...   one is larger.  After palpating both shoulders, I was able to deduce that she had injured the soft tissue (muscles) in her shoulder.  Abby allowed it to move and rotate, but she wouldn't put place weight on it.
WHEW!!!!!!   I don't know if she slid on the floor when jumping off the couch or the bed, if she fell off the bed last night and hurt herself, or caught it outside on something, this am.   
       No walks this morning, lunch or tonight.  I have some anti-inflammatory stuff here for dogs.  She had some this am, and will have more this afternoon.  I don't know how long the soft tissue (muscle) will hurt.  Given a few days, if she isn't better we will go to the vet this week.
      

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.