Talented Neighbor.........

Since I couldn't walk the girls I hopped on my bike and rode out into a different part of OTOW.   There was a loud, banging, somewhat like a blacksmith working in his forge.  I knew that sound...........
     One street over, a man was working in his garage, and he had an anvil.  Now, being me,  curiosity got the best and I stopped to chat.   It turned out the man used to work in a foundry, in Pennsylvania before he was able to retire.  He and his wife, moved to OTOW about a year ago.  He still likes to work with metal.   There a beautiful anvil in the garage, but instead of having a coal forge, he used an acylteen torch to heat and bend the metal .  One of his favorite things to make is this old fashioned lamp, retrofitted with a socket for a bulb.  
      After he makes 6 or 8 of them, they take them to their church and sell the lamps, or take orders, and donate all the funds to the church.  

You never know what you will find when you got and say hi, to everybody...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.