Surviving Humberto - JUST!

Here I am on the Isle of Wight - well done for those who guessed correctly which boat I was on yesterday! As much as I would love to take a trip on either of the big cruise ships (especially the one visiting the Antarctic!), I was indeed on the Red Funnel heading to the Island.

I’ve returned to The Windmill - the wacky campsite near Carisbrooke Castle where I stayed in May. (See my blip here). This time I am with a group - all Campervans and all customers of Northstar - the Isle of Wight company who did our Campervan conversions. They have booked the entire site for a few days for us. How generous is that??

Sadly, after such wonderful Indian Summer weather the last few days, we are here right as Tropical Storm Humberto arrived. We had some sunny weather in the morning - I ate my breakfast outside in it, and also enjoyed a walk into the village of Carisbrooke. But the heavy rain started mid afternoon and pretty much continued the rest of the day, with plenty of wind too.

The evening plan was to cook pizzas in the giant pizza/potato oven (called the ‘Spudomatic’). Not to be put off by a mere tropical rainstorm, we carried on as planned, with some of the brave souls monitoring the pizzas in the pouring rain. Thankfully there were 3 areas undercover for eating. I chose the upstairs dining area in the double decker bus.

Other views - the helicopter which is one of the glamping options - yes, you can sleep in it! And the ‘Siloflix’ cinema. Bottom right is the very wet view from the top of the bus!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.