Will the Circle be Unbroken?

Dear Diary,

I am watching the fabulous new documentary series on PBS by Ken Burns, Country Music.  I have always been a fan of country music especially when I learned of its roots in Scottish and Irish ballads brought here by early immigrants and the songs of African Americans.  The song, Will the Circle Be Unbroken?, made popular by the Carter Sisters back in the 1930's popped into my mind for some reason when I saw this sky.  It is such an autumn sky to me.  I always speak of the Circle of the Year and the turning of nature's wheel.  With the climate crisis facing us I thought that phrase appropriate.  Truly, may the circle be unbroken. Another song, a Johnny Cash tune, What is Truth, is also timely for today.  Written nearly 50 years ago, it still holds a powerful message.  Although written during the anti-war protests it would certainly suit the young people marching against gun violence and the climate crisis today.  Have a listen...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.