Grey Rollright Stones (WidWed250919)

Thought I should try somewhere different for today's Wide Wednesday effort - and as I was setting off the sky was blue and the weather dry.  By the time I had driven to the Rollright Stones (just over the border in Oxfordshire) the sky was a uniform grey and the rain had returned.

Thankfully - it did stop after a few minutes and I was able to get my blip. 
Not in the same league as Castlerigg Stone Circle, but it is at least old - around 2,500BC with some restoration work putting the stones back upright in the Victorian period.  My blip shows around a quarter of the circle, known as the Kings Men.

I'll probably go back on a better day as there is a burial mound accompanied by another group of stones, the Whispering Knights, close by and one other single Kings Stone,  on the far side of the road.

Thanks to Freyjad for hosting Wide Wednesday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.