Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

A Brief Shaft of Light

The weather improved in the afternoon, after another wet morning.  I grabbed the chance of a quick walk, furthering my investigation into the red deer herd in the area.  Earlier in the day I'd spoken to assistant clerk at the parish council who got in contact with someone they knew, who said that the deer had been imported from Scotland many years ago by the Little Wyrley Estate.  Some escaped and it's their descendants that now populate the area.

I did come across a few on my walk, mainly under the cover of the copses that were planted in the area some 20 years ago as part of the Forest of Mercia project.  They included the 10 pointer stag, who seems to have about a dozen hinds in his entourage.

In the end I decided to get back to the car as these heavy clouds were building up and rain looked imminent.  I just had the chance to grab this quick shot, when the sun briefly made an appearance from amongst the towering cloud formations.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.