Sebulon

By sebrose

Farewell bridge

After work, I head into Edinburgh. First stop, the dentist, who tells me I have a gum infection. After prodding and poking for a bit, he squirts it with antiseptic and gives me a prescription for antibiotics. Ouch.

Then a quick visit to the slowly decomposing Savage residence on John Street. Nick is emptying the place out. Noel is helping peripherally, taking a picture frame and a bundle of chopsticks.

And my final destination - Em’s for Angie’s farewell bridge evening. She’s heading off on her travels next week, bound for Asia and the United States. She intends to walk the Pacific Crest Trail next year, several thousand miles of hard plodding through varied extreme conditions.

We eat Chinese food and drink too much. The cards are very one sided and we get some quite bizarre distributions as well. We swap partners after the first rubber, which leaves Ailsa as the only one who didn’t really get any reasonable cards - but she did manage to work some magic, making cards disappear and changing their suits.

Far too late, I stagger back to Nick’s. he’s lent me the key, but I can’t get it to work. I rouse him, by the marvel of the mobile phone, and he demonstrates that I was putting it in the wrong lock. Oh well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.