Escapism

My historical non-fiction books are my escapism. As the weather turns it seems a good time to start reading again.

This is a small selection of my books ranging from Plantagenets to Tudors mostly. Further along the bookshelf are books on the suffragettes, aviation pioneers and rock legend Freddie Mercury.

For now I’m delving back into the pages of Red Roses by Amy Licence about the women whose influences helped shape the most dramatic of English conflicts. I’ve been to a couple of Amy’s book talks and she’s so interesting and knowledgeable. She brings history alive.

I’m a real devil for having several books on-the-go at once. By my bed is Animal Heroes by David Long about courageous animals awarded the PDSA Dickin medal for gallantry.

I’ve also got to finish Belgravia by Julian Fellowes. I was involved in the filming of some of the episodes on location back in the Spring and read just enough to help me understand the plot and what the art director wanted to achieve.

Anyone else flit between books?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.