Khdi

The day dawned cool, cloudy and damp. It was a bit of a shock to my system after 10 days of sunshine. 

Fortunately my Plan A involved driving a wee bit to the north, and I could see blue sky in that direction. The plan was a short hike up the gorge of the Khdi River. 

As I drove through the Daryali Gorge I was alternately transfixed by the scenery and the lunatic driving of locals and Russians. Then I found myself in a long traffic jam of trucks. Yes, I was in the queue for customs and immigration to leave Georgia. 

A u-turn - legal or not - was executed, and I found the car park for where I wanted to be. 

The hike was great, and I could have gone further, but the ground was rough in places and as the area was completely deserted, I would have been in trouble if I had twisted an ankle.

I did have a couple of hours appreciating the solitude and silence, the latter broken only by the sound of the wind in the trees and water in the river.     

The Blip is the Monastery of the Holy Archangels Michael and Gabriel, which lies at the bottom of the Khdi Gorge, and the Extra is a shot looking back down the gorge. The building is the Georgian customs and immigration crossing. 

Weight

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.