Settling In

It has been a lovely day, exploring Stepantsminda and settling in.

The day started well. I was woken about 7am by a strange noise outside my room. I went to investigate. What I found is in the first Extra*.

By then the sun was starting to touch the top of the surrounding mountains, so I could just sit and watch. Yes, a good start.  

The day’s main event was a hike up to 14th century Gergeti Trinity Church (visible in yesterday’s Blip). It is at 7,120 ft (2,170m) and the climb is mostly quite steep, so it was good fun. 

That aside, it is wonderful to just relax in a mountain village like this. The leaves are changing colour and autumn is here. As the sun moves, what you see of the surrounding mountains changes.   

I found the coolest coffee shop in town - Avtobus. It is Extra 2. Yes, it is/was a bus. Friendly service, excellent coffee and great home baking. 

The Blip is a view back downhill during my climb. 

* Horses and cattle are let out in the early morning, they spend the day by themselves looking for pasture, and then return by themselves in the evening. 10 minutes after I took the shot, I had 20 horses outside my room. They moved on and were replaced by a herd of cattle. You do have to look where you are putting your feet.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.