Caucasus

Today has been another travel day. I am now in Stepantsminda, 94 miles (151km) north of Tbilisi close to the border with the Russian Federation. 

I rented a car for a few days. 

The road from Tbilisi to here is busy as the border crossing is the only one open between the two countries, and Vladikavkaz (the capital of North Ossetia-Alania with a population of over 300,000) is only 28 miles away. 

Getting out of Tbilisi by car was frustrating. The satnav tried to send me up one way streets the wrong way several times. I never use them usually, having had a similar experience in rural Virginia many years ago. The city traffic and the local driving habits are tough enough without Garmin making it worse. 

It was worth it, though. Stunning mountain scenery. 

Just as I arrived and stopped for coffee/wifi, the news of the court judgement against PM Johnson came through on Twitter. I was not sure whether to cry or have a heart attack.    

The Blip is pretty much the view I have from my bedroom window, although I took it a little bit along the street. It is Mt Kazbegi - 16,581 ft or 5,054m. It is the third highest peak in Georgia and the 7th highest in the Caucasus. It is a dormant volcano. 

I will not be climbing it. I might get a bit closer, however…

The Extra is the local street furniture. I walked past her and she did not move. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.