The Way I See Things

By JDO

Kestrel

I set off for Trench Wood this afternoon in brilliant sunshine, but the further west I drove the heavier the sky became, and about half way there I gave up on the plan, turned the car, and went to Grove Hill instead. I managed to arrive in advance of the rain storm, but it wasn't long in arriving, at which point I almost gave up and went back home; but in the event I was glad that I decided to sit it out, because after it went over the late afternoon turned glorious, and I spent a very enjoyable hour walking the reserve.

I took this just as the rain was starting. I'd been standing by the pond, looking for dragons, and hadn't noticed the kestrel in neighbouring field, but a corvid swooped down and chased it up into the oak tree, where it stayed for several minutes. Every now and then the corvid would swoop in again and try to startle it away, but the kestrel sat tight. It also had a perfectly good view of me as I edged along the fence trying to get a good sight line, but wasn't impressed by me either, and in the end it was the rain that moved both of us, me to the car, and the kestrel into the woods, presumably also in search of shelter. Although I was a seriously long way away from the tree, and therefore this is heavily cropped, I like it for the composition and and the autumnal palette.

And now to this week's Tiny Tuesday results. It was lovely that so many people chose to play this week, and that your chosen subjects were so varied - thank you for giving me an interesting evening, looking through all the images and making my choices.

In no particular order, my hearts this week go to:

isbi 

ladypop 

Hanulli 

osuzanna 

V1k1

And my Honourable Mentions go to:

Andrew44 

dbifulco 

gordo 

Sheol 

Kimb 

Crispin25

I do hope you'll take a look at these photos and show them some appreciation; and I hope you'll all play again next week, when the tag will be tt227. As of this moment, there's no host for October, and it would be great if someone would step up and take it on - I promise you that it's not onerous! If you'd like to have a go, please get in touch with osuzanna or jensphotos and have a chat with them about it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.