aNTicipation

The National Theatre (NT) before the play starts. The NT is an architectural masterpiece, in my opinion, which improves with age. OK, it is a bit frayed around the edges but then while I was sitting here this evening I saw a punter come in wearing a cycling helmet and wheeling his folding bike with its lights flashing across the carpet. Its hardly surprising that its a bit shabby in places!

But I love the anticipation as theatregoers start to fill up the central bar areas and the milling around builds and builds. I was here to have a look at the Landscape Photo of the Year exhibition so didnt go into a play. I was able to feel the calm that came over the building after the punters had gone into the Lyttleton to enjoy the Alan Bennett play : Cocktail Sticks.

Its a wonderful public space that works a treat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.