Plus ça change...

By SooB

Fading away

Not me, just the scenery. Yesterday's low cloud dropped further today so that it was foggy at school and at our house, only a few tens of metres lower, it felt as though if you stretched up you could touch the bottom of the cloud.

Although the weather is impeding gardening and hanging washing out, I am coasting through on a cloud of hot strong tea and self-affirmation (as well as some lovely supportive comments from yesterday...) Today, aside from getting the kids back into the swing of school (not hard: they were both delighted to go back) I restocked the house with food and then had an appointment to pre-enrol Katherine at the College up the road. The headmistress seemed like a very calm reassuring type of person - but that may just have been the effects of the joss sticks burning in her office... I couldn't quite get over the fact that she was wearing jodphurs: not like fashion jodphurs, but actual "I've just jumped off a horse" jodphurs. Katherine, of course, was delighted when I told her that.

It was an odd sort of meeting, with very few questions about Katherine's educational attainment, but lots about her personality. I hadn't prepared for that so just had to mumble out some nonesense about her being kind to animals. The Directrice said some words that all sounded like good things, so I just agreed with her on that. Who knows what she'll make of the real thing. She also seemed a little surprised that I had questions about the school (oh you know, little things like class sizes, subjects taught and so on....)

So, over the next few weeks we have to decide whether to pay up and secure her place. It's where her friends are going, it's a fairly small school, and it's handy for pick up and drop off given Conor is just down the road. But, we have to pay for it (not much) it is Catholic (but with nothing enforced) and, erm I can't think of anything else. I had a good feeling about it, but will try to overcome my shyness to go and try out the College in town as well (huge, free, possibly more choice of subjects?)

The shot is the trees up by the schools. I thought this would work well in black and white, but actually I prefer how it looked in colour with the darkening sky. I hope this fog goes away. It is very picturesque, but a bit depressing really.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.