Plus ça change...

By SooB

Pudding Chez SooB

Bit of a lazy pudding from Mr B tonight, as you can see. Having learnt from his big sister's mistake, Conor has his eyes tightly closed to avoid injury from sprinkles.

A busy but fairly relaxed day. Painting in the morning (our hallway is a little bit whiter, which bodes well for its future use as a wedding venue...) but I excused myself in the afternoon to get busy again with Katherine's velvet 'bed alcove' curtains. This was a blatantly transparent ploy to get to spend the afternoon in the warm kitchen rather than the icy cold hallway, but I got away with it.

The clouds had hauled themselves up a little higher today, so could be described as 'low cloud' rather than 'fog'. Still not great gardening weather. However a l-o-n-g catch up chat with my mam last night has made me think that I might need a different approach. Our garden has been grass since way back. It is that long kind of tussocky grass now and I know from digging over the front borders, that it is the type with huge long roots. Mam thinks my approach to creating a veg garden of strimming and then rotovating will just lead to years of pulling grass weeds out. She thinks it would be better to scrape the whole top layer off, to catch all the grass roots, and start again with decent, weed-free, topsoil. Any views?

Meanwhile, the kids are lost in world of Mario, leading to impossibly odd statements like that just heard from Katherine: "I'm hitting them with turtles but it's not popping their balloons". I tried to interest them in Bowie's new single... they just gave me the look.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.